Skip to main content

Broadcaster, writer and comedian Timandra Harkness has become the new chair of the Significance editorial board.

Timandra Harkness is well-known to the Royal Statistical Society (RSS) and wider statistical community in the UK, being a member of both the RSS Council and the RSS Data Ethics and Governance section. She also works in the media as a journalist (including for Significance) and broadcaster, having presented numerous programmes on science and technology for BBC Radio 4, and has performed her STEM-inspired comedy shows around the world. She is also the author of Big Data: Does Size Matter? (Bloomsbury Sigma, 2016) and is currently working on a new book about personalised technology for Harper Collins.

Timandra steps into the role after the retirement of biostatistician Mario Cortina Borja, who spent 12 years as chair.

“Everyone involved with Significance, especially myself and previous editor Brian Tarran, thanks Mario profusely for so generously giving us his wisdom and support for so many years,” said Significance editor Anna Britten.

“We are excited to welcome Timandra, whose skills and experience will help us take Significance into the future, and spread our statistics-based stories to an even wider audience.”

Black and white photo of short-haired woman in black top with folded arms looking into camera

Timandra Harkness

The Significance editorial board exists to help shape and steer the editorial content of Significance magazine and its website; to ensure that published articles describe and apply statistical methods correctly; and to support the editor in sourcing and commissioning articles that help the publication fulfil its mission statement:

The board consists of a maximum of 22 members (plus the editor) and representation is split between the RSS (10 members), the American Statistical Association (ASA; 10 members), and the Statistical Society of Australia (SSA; 2 members). Board members must be members of the RSS, ASA or SSA. One representative of the RSS is appointed board chair, and one ASA representative is appointed vice­-chair (currently James J. Cochran).


You might also like: And the winner of the 2023 Statistical Excellence Award for Early-Career Writing is…

Significance Magazine